Strawberry shortcake with homemade almond whipped cream

There were some strawberries on sale at Publix this weekend and when I saw how ripe they were I decided to add two pounds to my cart. I thought strawberry shortcake would make a yummy dessert even though I think it is usually more of a spring and summer treat.

I purchased some pre-made dessert shells at Publix which are the start to any amazing strawberry shortcake.  I love how moist and sweet these are!

I decided to whip up some homemade whipped cream. My Mom shared her recipe with me and I made it for the first time a few weeks ago and Jon loved it! I love it because it is the same price – if not cheaper – then store-bought whipped cream but it is so much creamier and tastier!

I tweaked my Mom’s recipe a little bit this time.  Far East Nashville, my favorite Vietnamese restaurant in Nashville, used to have the most delicious cherry pie made with phyllo dough and the best whipped cream I had ever tried (sorry Mom!).  One time I asked what was in the whipped cream that made it taste sooo good.  The answer was my magical ingredient Sunday night…

***almond extract***

Sounds weird, yes.  Tastes amazing, yes!  I could literally eat it with a spoon as my dessert.  For those wondering – the almond is not over-powering in any way!  After I made it I had Jon try it and told him to guess what was in the whipped cream.  He had no idea but loved the taste of this version!

Look at how fluffy the cream gets! It only takes about 5-7 minutes.

The whipped cream recipe is:

  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract

Whip cream for about a minute or two on medium-high. Add 1/4 cup powdered sugar. Whip cream for another few minutes until fluffy on medium-high to high. Once you have the consistency you want to add 1 teaspoon almond extract and let it whip on medium-high for about 30 seconds. Your taste buds will thank you!

The finished product! Yes, I believe that if you make homemade whipped cream your dessert should be equal parts whipped cream to actual dessert.  I wasn’t sure how the almond whipped cream would taste with the strawberry shortcake but I was determined to make it since it was that good at Far East.  It actually made an incredible topping to the strawberry shortcake!

This entry was posted in Sweets, What I'm making and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

