BBQ black bean & quinoa burgers

Last week, after I wrote about wanting to eat less meat, my friend Emily contacted me with the offer to help if she could since she has been a vegetarian for the last six months. I was so happy she reached out to me since I am still trying to cultivate a vegetarian recipe stockpile. I requested that she share any recipes that she and her husband Matt have already taste-tested and loved.

Since Emily’s review for the BBQ black bean & quinoa burgers was: ‘#1 best vegetarian alternative EVER – Matt will eat this for DAYS and asks for them allll the time’ I knew I should start with it! I posted the actual recipe at the bottom of this post.

It was such a simple recipe to make and I had almost all of the ingredients in my kitchen already! Jon loved these and even went back for seconds! When Jon gets seconds I always know its good. While they are called ‘burgers’ I think the consistency is actually closer to meatloaf. The BBQ sauce and liquid smoke flavored but did not over power the burgers. I would definitely make them again! I even tasted the pureed black bean, bbq sauce and liquid smoke mixture and think it would make a great dip!

As you can see I did not make round burgers. Since you are supposed to let the combined mixture set in the fridge for about 10 minutes, I mixed and then pressed it into a 9×13 pan. I thought this way I could easily remove them with a spatula which worked great (mine were probably in the fridge for around 30 minutes though since we decided to take the dogs for a walk).

I decided against a bun since I didn’t feeling like buying any 🙂  I thought they were great plain and with ketchup.  The salad was a perfect accompaniment.

Burger recipe from Live Learn Love Eat. My one recipe modification is noted in green

Smoky Hickory Black Bean and Quinoa Burgers

Makes 8 Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 (540 ml) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/3 cup hickory BBQ sauce (I use Bulls Eye)
  • 1 + 1/4 teaspoons hickory liquid smoke
  • 1 cup whole wheat breadcrumbs instant oatmeal
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 4 tablespoons canola or olive oil for frying
  • 8 whole wheat burger buns
  • Topping of your choice. Lettuce, tomatoes, ketchup, relish, dijon mustard, onions or pickles.

Directions

In a medium saucepan, bring the quinoa and water to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 20 minutes. While the quinoa is cooking, place the drained and rinsed black beans in a food processor along with the BBQ sauce and liquid smoke. Process until smooth. Place the processed bean mixture in a large mixing bowl. Once the quinoa is cooked, remove it from the heat, uncover, stir and allow it to cool a little.  Add the quinoa to the bean mixture along with the breadcrumbs, minced onion and garlic. Stir until everything is well combined. Refrigerate to set about 5-10 minutes. Heat a skillet on medium heat along with a bit of canola or olive oil. Form the burgers into 8 thick (2 inch round) patties.Fry the burgers for 3-5 minutes on each side until browned.

This entry was posted in Meals, What I'm making and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BBQ black bean & quinoa burgers

  1. Emily says:

    You make a newbie vegetarian (if I can even call myself that) proud! Glad you LOVED them!

Talk to me:

