New Nashville friend

Tonight Jon and I headed over to meet a new friend.  Her name is Claire Jane and she surprised her Mom and Dad by arriving on Christmas Eve two weeks before her birth!

What a good looking family!  Little Claire has the cutest little face and some fuzzy brown hair.  Mom & Dad already look like naturals!

Photo credit: Shannon via facebook 🙂

I knew that I wanted to take them a meal since Bob is back at work and Val is adjusting to maternity leave at home.  I have to say Val doesn’t look at all tired or like she had a baby a week and a half ago.  Val – please give us all your secret!!

I decided to try my hand at cottage pie (shepherd’s pie with ground beef instead of ground lamb) since I remembered Val ordered this one time when we all went out to eat.  I found this recipe on TastyKitchen and made a trial run for Jon & I this week.  Jon approved (although he did say it is not as good as the Family Wash in East Nashville – duh!) so I made another batch last night.  In the spirit of full disclosure: I used a pre-made jar of gravy and bought refrigerated mashed potatoes as mine tend to be lumpy.  I think I also added a 1/2 cup or full cup of extra vegetables and extra mashed potatoes.  I know – I am always going ‘rogue’, Jon.

How crafty am I with my printed post-it note with the baking instructions?!  It only took about 3 post-its to get it right.

It was so nice to catch up with friends and meet the new addition to their family.  And let’s be honest…it is always so nice to hold a sweet little newborn baby!  Jon apparently has a future in baby whispering…how relaxed does little Claire look?

Let’s all pretend like I am not wearing the same outfit I was in my photos from yesterday.  ok?  thanks!

This entry was posted in Meals, What I'm doing, What I'm making and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Nashville friend

  1. Shannon says:

    1. Isn’t Claire a doll?!?
    2. I LOVE the Family Wash!
    3. You are cracking me up the “Let’s all pretend like I am not wearing the same outfit I was in my photos from yesterday. ok? thanks!” Bahaha!

  2. Val says:

    Yay! Dinner was SO good – thank you!

Talk to me:

