Drinking more water & eating less meat

Unlike like most of you lucky ducks I was working yesterday.  Vanderbilt decided that the Friday before New Years was a better day off then the Monday following.  I know womp womp womp.

In the spirit of new years my co-workers and I started talking about our resolutions and goals for the year.  One of my goals is to drink more water – the daily recommended amount to be exact (eight 8 ounce glasses).  Well, one of my co-workers heard that people generally drink more when drinking through a straw.  I tried to google this so that I could give you all the facts but the google results were mainly about alcohol consumption and that is not what I am going for here.

Well, I just happened to purchase a thermal coffee cup for Jon that came with a plastic cup and straw this weekend.  Score!  I am happy to report that I drank four 16 ounce glasses of water throughout the day.  This is a vast improvement for me.  I am usually lucky to drink three 16 ounce glasses.   I find that it is easier to drink out of a straw and do other things such as look at work on the computer or internet surf.  I never realized that it is harder to manage drinking out of a cup versus a straw and multi-task.  I am a believer.  Hopefully, my new cup will continue to help me meet my daily goal.

One of my other goals is to eat less meat.  This has been an unsuccessful goal that is now being carried over from years past.  I am still not sure how this will exactly play out – it is not realistic for me to be 100% vegetarian because I do enjoy a good steak every now and then.  Since I have been thinking about this over the past few months I have been proactively trying to find vegetarian recipes that we would like.

I have also started cooking with tofu.  There a tons of health benefits that tofu provides – lowered cholesterol, decrease risk of heart disease and some types of cancer, just to name a few.  Tofu also has a lengthy shelf life at a month or two.  Last night I made a dish that I have cooked before and just changed out the chicken for tofu.  I made yellow rice with onion and peppers, mojo tofu and roasted asparagus.  It was so tasty!  There were leftovers for lunch and one of my co-workers said how good it looked – which was very exciting!  Next time I make it I will write the recipe down so that I can share it.

This entry was posted in Meals, What I'm making and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

