Nutella No Bake Cookies

Jon’s last bicycle race of the season is tonight.  Since the races are a criterium series they have all been at the same location: the LP Field parking lot.  Since that is only a mile or two from our house I have been able to watch almost every race.  It is always a treat watching  someone you love do (or even talk about) something they are passionate about.  Jon loves biking and is so competitive, I get a rush of adrenaline just watching him race.  In case you are wondering Jon has been holding steady near the front of the pack with mostly first place finishes and one or two second place finishes. 

In honor of the last race I wanted to make something sweet for the team to snack on after they race.  Some of guys on his team are a little more health conscious than Jon so I wanted a healthy yet sweet snack.  I decided to check Tasty Kitchen, my favorite recipe site to see what I could come up with.  Well, when I saw these Nutella No Bake Cookies I threw caution to the wind and decided to make them even though they aren’t that healthy (hey, they have oatmeal in them so that should count for something, right?!).

The cookies are made with the below ingredients (plus a stick of margarine and 1/2 cup milk).  You might already have all of the ingredients at your house – I was only missing nutella.  These were quick and easy to make.  It probably only took about 15 minutes from start to finish.

I used my Martha Stewart cookie scoop and was able to make 36 of these bad boys:

Amazing!  These cookies remind me of a Reese’s peanut butter cup with the consistency of a Goo Goo Cluster or some peanut butter chocolate fudge.  They were so good that I had to try three of them last night…quality control people!

If you wanted to make them healthier I think you could and they would still taste great.  You could probably cut everything but the peanut butter, nutella and oatmeal in half and make a less chocolate-y more oatmeal-y cookie or granola bar.

If you wanted to be bad the mixture minus the oatmeal would make an outstanding ice cream sauce or fondu sauce.   I tasted it before adding the oatmeal and it was absolutely divine on its own.

This entry was posted in Sweets, What I'm making and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

