Another Half

Something crazy happened this morning: I got talked into racing another half marathon.  Nothing like a little peer pressure from your friends (thanks Amanda). 

Amanda and I will be completing the Murfreesboro Half Marathon – the middle half – in October.  I am excited and a little nervous.  I had still be thinking about what I want to do next to push myself and had been thinking about taking on running a 5k.  I am not a runner so this would be a big HUGE accomplishment for me.  Well, the middle half has a time limit and that is 15 min/mile pace.  Just in case you don’t remember Amanda and I rounded out the country music half marathon at a 15:45 min/mile pace.  So we will have to push ourselves and train harder so running that 5k might be part of the training plan.  But we do have an extra month to train and we aren’t starting from scratch this time.

I am also a little nervous about the fact that the course will be 100% new to me on race day.  Amanda and I trained for the county music marathon primarily on the course so we knew what to expect.  The middle half is billed as ‘flat & fast’ so I will have to keep my fingers crossed.

Even though I am a little nervous I am also very excited!  This race is limited to 2,500 racers which is way smaller than the country music marathon.  This means we will start closer to on-time and finish earlier.  I am looking forward to pushing myself even more.

This entry was posted in What I'm doing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Half

  1. Val says:

    You’ll do great!

Talk to me:

