First Saturday Art Crawl

In honor of tomorrow being the first Saturday of May I thought I would highlight the First Saturday Art Crawl…which takes place…drum roll please…the first Saturday of every month. 

Jon and I attended this free, fun & fabulous event last month.  It was really a fun and different way to spend a Saturday night.  Not only that, it is free (unless you fall in love with artwork) and most of the galleries offer snacks and refreshments that are free.  Doesn’t get much better then that folks!  You can thank me for the fabulous date-night idea in the comments section below 🙂

I love me some free activities.  Art galleries are usually not our scene so the fact that this is a free event (with a free shuttle in between galleries) was a heavy motivator for us last month.  I am so glad we went – it was fun to explore a new Nashville scene.  I have driven past this area and never noticed what a large population of art galleries there were. There are tons of small galleries on Arcade Alley and it took us forever to discover them.

 There was a green bike on display so you know we had to take a picture.

Underwear made out of gold crayons.  Enough said.

This chair was made out of huge wooden pieces and sturdy metal.  It wasn’t the most comfortable chair but it sure was fun watching people debate whether or not you could sit on it.  I could just hear the internal dialogue: It’s artwork…but is it a chair?

Not only were some of the galleries offering cocktails and wine…but one had some Pabst Blue Ribbon in a cooler with Jon’s name on it.  Photo disclaimer: Jon was having so much fun at the art crawl that he had to keep posting photos and updates on facebook.

What can I say – I like to mug for the camera every now and then.

Jon finally got to try out The Grilled Cheeserie.  Yum!!  I did a little facebook investigation and they will be there again tomorrow night.

Nothing like ending the evening with a serenade!

The art crawl is tomorrow, Saturday May 7th.  It is 6:00 – 9:00 and the shuttle between the gallery run from 6:00 – 10:00.  I encourage you to try something new for date night!  And who knows…you just might run into us.

This entry was posted in What I'm doing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Saturday Art Crawl

  1. Shannon says:

    This looks like fun! We just might have to check this out tomorrow!

  2. Amanda says:

    I have been trying to talk Dave into this all week. Mostly because I want to try the featured grilled cheese of the week – the caliente!

  3. Val says:

    It does sound fun! Wish Bob didn’t have National Guard the first weekend of every month 😦

  4. Libby and Lucas says:

    Love your cute striped dress with boots! 🙂 Very pretty!

Talk to me:

