Happy St. Patty’s Day!

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day I decided to make something fun and festive for my office. After all, any holiday that requires you to wear green should be celebrated!  I have seen tons of fun recipes online over the past few weeks featuring green sweets, cupcakes with Guinness and other sweets with liquor.  Well, my work wouldn’t go for alcohol in food (even in small doses) and anything with food coloring usually colors your mouth (lips, teeth, tongue…not so good for the office) so I opted out of that too.

I thought about making Rice Krispie treats but those didn’t seem festive enough so on my walk home I started wracking my brain…and thought that maybe I could make Rice Krispie treats with Lucky Charms instead.  A quick internet search told me it has been done before…there goes originality.  But at least there was a recipe to guide me.  The recipes I found were pretty much all the same as the traditional Rice Krispie treat.

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 10 ounces marshmallows
  • 5 cups Lucky Charms

Melt butter & marshmallows and then mix with Lucky Charms.  I doubled the recipe (by way of making it twice).  I wanted slim treats so I spread them on a 12×17 cookie sheet.

Before:

After: Yes, I realize it looks just like cereal poured on a cookie sheet.  But look how fun it is!

I cut the treats into pieces so I could transport it easily in an enclosed tupperware and so that way people don’t have to worry about cutting into it at work (no one ever wants to be the first one).

Yummy!!  Jon & I have taste tested and they are great!  I love the colorful marshmallows and that it keeps with the Irish theme of the day 🙂

Happy St. Patty’s Day!!!

This entry was posted in Sweets, What I'm making and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

