Best of Nashville: Sunset Grill

Last night Jon and I headed out for a Nashville Predators hockey game.  The game was action packed in the first period – the Preds scored three goals!  They scored their fourth goal in the 3rd period so free frostys here we come 🙂  This post is not about the Preds game though.  I am not even going to write about it being Carrie Underwood’s birthday yesterday and that I think I saw her from far far away across the ice in a box since it could’ve all been my imagination (I’m sure she was there though since it was her birthday and her husband does play for the Preds now)…I digress.

This post is about another conquering of our challenge to hit the Nashville Scene’s readers’ poll best of list.  Last night we had ourselves a two-fer.  After the hockey game we headed to Sunset Grill in Hillsboro Village and were able to try their late night menu and their desserts.  I had a living social deal that expired last night so you know I had to use it (similar concept to Groupon…just not as good in my book).

We decided to split the fried egg sandwich.  It was wonderful!  The sandwich consisted of a fried egg, white cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato and roasted garlic aioli on a croissant.  I love breakfast sandwiches – it was great as a late night snack 🙂  The sandwich was served with some yummy house chips – teeny slivers of fried potato.  It was just the right amount to share.

For dessert I tried the creme brulee.  I usually love creme brulee but this one didn’t do it for me.  The custard wasn’t very good and the sugar on top was too thick and hard.  I wouldn’t order it again.

Jon had the Jack Daniels chocolate pecan pie.  This was better than the creme brulee but still not an I want to go back to get it dessert.  The chocolate was regular sized chocolate chips which I wasn’t expecting.  But you could definitely taste the Jack 🙂

I liked the fried egg sandwich a lot so I would try other food items at Sunset Grill- so that part makes me like the joint.  I probably wouldn’t try dessert there again.

I also have to say the service was not great.  The restaurant wasn’t hopping but it took our server a long time to do just about everything.  He also wasn’t very friendly.

This entry was posted in Best of Nashville - challenge, Restaurants I like, Where I'm eating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

