Best of Nashville: Bolton’s Hot Chicken

It’s been a long while since I highlighted a Nashville Scene Reader’s Poll Best of Nashville restaurant.  Well, Jon and I got back to our Best of Nashville challenge last weekend.

We headed to Bolton’s Hot Chicken (AKA Bolton’s Spicy Chicken and Fish) off Main St. in East Nashville.  I use East Nashville very loosely here as I don’t consider their location East Nashville; maybe on the way to East Nashville would be more appropriate.  Jon and I drive right past Bolton’s 50% of the time we go there.  It is a very small restaurant and very easy to overlook so make sure to keep your eyes peeled!

We have been a few times before but Jon was craving some hot chicken from his favorite Nashville establishment. 

Bolton’s is very small.  Judging by the looks of it, it is an old house upon which they added a dining room for customers.  There are three tables.  This picture was taken with my back against the entrance.

You order at an inside window.  If the window is closed you are supposed to ‘knock when ready to order’.  You’ve gotta love a place that is so good people don’t think it’s crazy to knock on the door to order.

Bolton’s current menu. 

The view in the kitchen (taken from the ordering window).

My chicken tenders.  Please note the color.  I ordered ‘not spicy’ which I forgot is interpreted as not too spicy.  Not spicy was way too hot for me.  I ate one tender while dipping it in tons of ranch dressing and my mouth was on fire (I had to extinguish the fire with some ice cream when we got home).  My lips were burning for about an hour.  I don’t like spicy hot though so maybe I am just a wimp.  For any other wimps out there you want to order ‘no spice’ which is apparently different then ‘not spicy’.  Oh English, you failed me.

Jon’s chicken on a stick.  Please note the color.  Jon’s orders his chicken hot – why yes, he is crazy.  All of their chicken comes with pickles and two slices of white bread.  Jon instructed me to dip my not spicy tenders in ranch sauce and eat the bread with the tender in the same bite.  This still did not work.

Look at how red his face is!  The chicken was so hot he actually started to sweat!  I’m sorry but why would you want to do that to yourself?

We also ordered fries which are good not great.  I do recommend skipping the mac n cheese.  It was not good.

Other then my ordering snafu (and the mac n cheese) Bolton’s chicken is good.  Their chicken is so moist you will not be disappointed!

This entry was posted in Best of Nashville - challenge, Restaurants I like, Where I'm eating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

