Sausage, Onions and Peppers Calzone

A few weeks ago Jon & I happened upon an episode of ‘Kitchen Boss‘ on TLC. For those of you who haven’t heard of it, Kitchen Boss features Buddy Valastro who is the ultimate ‘Cake Boss‘. The episode we caught was about street food and Buddy and his cousin made a sausage, onion and pepper calzone that instantly made my mouth water! I decided to try my hand at making one this weekend.

When I create recipes I usually work in wholes (as in one can of this, one can of that, one whole onion) but this time I used halves + one whole.  Fewer dishes when those measuring cups aren’t dirty 🙂

One entire Publix pre-made pizza dough (love this for pizza or calzones – we make about one a week!). Leave it out on the counter for about an hour prior to rolling it out. Once your slave wonderful husband rolls the dough out for you start adding the toppings. Keep in mind you only want to put toppings on half the dough.

I used a few tablespoons of pizza sauce, half of one package of Publix hot Italian spicy turkey sausage (which I sautéed prior to adding), halves of one red pepper, one green pepper and one sweet onion (which I sautéed together prior to adding) and about half of one package of mozzarella cheese (which is a cup).  Once you have added all the toppings fold the empty half over the topping-ed half (duh) and use a fork to combine the edge of both halves together.  I believe we baked our in the over on 450 for about 20 minutes.  You want the calzone to be golden.  This made two meals for us.

Look at that! Gooey cheese and all kinds of tasty fillings! And the golden crunchy crust.

You’ll be so happy if you make this for dinner soon!

You can find Buddy’s recipes (including the actual calzone recipe) on TLC’s website.

This entry was posted in Meals, What I'm making and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

