Philly in Philly

This weekend Jon and I headed to State College, PA.  While the reason for our visit is another blog (or maybe five), we unexpectedly ended up connecting through Philadelphia.  It was the first time either of us have even been to Philly – even though it was more of a fly through.  It had been a long day of traveling (sitting at Nashville international for 4.5 hours due to delayed flights).  After the long afternoon in Nashville and knowing we had a few hours to kill we decided to have a sit down dinner.  The only sit-down restaurant in terminal F in the Philadelphia airport was Jet Rock & Bar and we were happy to find a seat.  Jet Rock reminded me of a college bar: we could barely walk through to find a table.

We both seized the opportunity to have our first authentic Philly Cheese Steak Sandwich…complete with cheese whiz.  I was a little scared at first.  I am not sure that I have ever even tried cheese whiz before.  But I have to say my first Philly in Philly was very memorable!!  It was delicious probably the best cheese steak sandwich I have had in a long time.

The standard sandwich just had meat and cheese.  I added onions and peppers.  You can’t see the cheese whiz here but it was there.  It really gives another element to an already good sandwich.  The cheese whiz gets more warm and gooey then normal cheese.

Jon taking a big ‘ol bite…YUM!  We both loved the sandwich – I might have to try to make one at home soon!

This entry was posted in Restaurants I like, Where I'm eating and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Philly in Philly

  1. Amanda says:

    I ate at the same place last week when I was trying to get back to Nashville on Thursday. Could you feel my presence?

  2. alilbitokic says:

    Too bad we couldn’t have worked out better planning and had dinner together 🙂

Talk to me:

