Busy girl’s cake balls

This Thursday is a very special day: Jon will turn 27 on the 27th!  Birthdays are a week-long (or in the case of my birthday month-long) celebration in our household.  As part of the celebration the birthday boy got to request any special birthday dessert.  Jon wanted cake balls as his birthday cake so last night I started working on them so we would have them to enjoy all week-long!

Instead of forming all of the cake balls individually by hand and having all different sizes and messy hands I decided to try something new.  I used this handy Martha Stewart cookie scoop to form all the cake balls.  I am happy to report that it only took about 10 or 15 minutes (or even less) to form all the cake balls!  It was super easy!

After a night in the fridge and then an hour in the freezer I started the dipping process.  I tried something new for this too. Instead of putting the cake balls into the chocolate (double-boiler) and attempting to sift off all the extra chocolate I microwaved the chocolate and then dipped the bottom of all the balls.  Next I used a spoon to get the chocolate on the top of the balls.

These cake balls are definitely not as pretty as the previous ones that I have made.  They were way quicker to make though and just as tasty!! I probably wouldn’t use the busy girl’s way to make cake balls if I were taking them to share with friends or co-workers.  But this way I am getting to spend more time with Jon for his birthday week instead of slaving away in the kitchen.

This entry was posted in Sweets, What I'm making and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

