Texas Caviar

A few weekends ago we went over to our neighbors’ Kurt & Angie’s house.  They are huge Packers fans and invited us over to watch the game with them.  I am not really into football but went over with Jon anyways…and I am so glad that I did!!!  As any great host does…they offered us a snack…and oh my goodness…was this delicious!  It is a dip called Texas caviar (a google search will provide you with thousands of options)…how did I not learn about this sooner??!!  It is deliciously tasty!  I could not make myself stop eating it…even though I had told Jon 15 minutes prior to this that I was stuffed from breakfast.

I tried to find the exact recipe online that featured the same ingredients that their’s did but couldn’t find the exact combination that I was looking for.  The result: a knock on their door pleading for the recipe.  I am so happy they obliged!

My very own copy of the recipe:

Some of the ingredients in the colander.  It didn’t want to worry about the caviar becoming watered down.

A picture of a few of the ingredients.  I substituted scallions for the red onion.  The red pepper is hiding the jalapeno I used…the first one I have ever cooked with (completely and utterly seeded of course!!)

The end result: yummy Texas caviar!  Look at how colorful this turns out!!  We used Fritos scoops to maximize our dip per chip ratio 🙂

Here is the recipe for your own consumption and enjoyment:

For the sauce (I recommend making this first since it most boil and then cool before you put it over the rest of the ingredients):

Bring 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup vinegar, and 1/2 cup sugar to rolling boil for two minutes.  Let cool and pour over other ingredients.

Then get the fixings ready:

1 can black-eyed peas; drain and rinse

1 can shoepeg corn; drain and rinse

1 can pinto beans; drain and rinse

1 red pepper finely diced

1 red onion finely diced

1 -2 jalapeno finely diced

Mix together in a large bowl.

This is best served cold so be sure to keep it in the fridge!

This entry was posted in What I'm making and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

