Thursday night dinner date

I have Thursday night dinner dates with Amanda on most Thursdays.  It’s a great way to catch up with each other and grab a good bite.  And since we have a set night of the week we know to keep it open for dinner.

We try to stay in or near downtown Nashville since we meet after work and I think we have been good about going to different places; not always new to us places – just not repeating restaurants we have already been to on our weekly date night.  Tonight we headed to Athens Family Restaurant on 8th S/Franklin Pike.  It is just down the road from The Smiling Elephant so it is another place I have driven by a hundred times and never thought about trying; but, oh, so happy to have been there!

We decided to try it because Amanda read that Guy Fieri from Diners, Drive-ins and Dives had filmed for an episode there this week (the reason why Amanda was on twitter checking this out is because I saw Guy filming at a different restaurant when I was walking back to work from my lunch at The Dog of Nashville earlier this week).

We started out with hummus and pitas…the hummus was good but the pitas where delicious!  The were soft, warm and flavorful.  I had the traditional gyro sandwich and it was as good as the ones we had in Greece for our honeymoon.  It was made with the same warm pita, fresh lettuce and tomatos (nice crisp lettuce – it says that on the menu and it is true!) and their homemade tzatziki sauce.

I am really glad that I finally tried Athens!

This entry was posted in Restaurants I like, Where I'm eating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me:

